the linux newb

all things tech

VMware and the .vmx file (revisited)

I am fairly new to VM and their applications, but I having a growing love for them each and every day. I recently created a virtual machine with VMware Workstation 5.5 and wanted to move this virtual machine to another physical machine. I installed VMplayer (free appliance) on the other physical machine. Using WinSCP, I copied the folder created by Workstation to the physical machine and opened the .vmx file with VMplayer. The virtual machine opened and worked on the physical machine.

After installation of VMplayer

Opening .vmx file on VMplayer

vmplayer2.jpg

VMplayer then asks how you received the .vmx file, I chose that I copied it.

16/12/2007 - Posted by | VMware

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

