the linux newb

all things tech

Top 5 Reasons Why You Should Not Get Certified…

I came across this article stating the top 5 reasons why you should not get certified and it was appalling. I am a strong supporter of IT certifications and the positivity that comes from them (i.e. employer attention, increasing education, testing your skills, etc.). As I was reading, I was secretly hoping the writer was being sarcastic because some of the reasons sounded very sarcastic, but it is hard to tell when you are reading and not as hard when you are speaking to someone. But the one thing that really stuck out to me was under reason #3 it states, “The fact is, your just not that smart and knowing that there are loads of resources on the internet to help you is more information than you need.” Now, I’m no English professional, but I do believe it is supposed to read, “The fact is, YOU’RE just not ….” My blog is free for me, and these people are PAYING for editors, writers, etc. to double-check grammar and spelling, correct? Do you really trust a publication with poor grammar and spelling. I guess I’m just on the chip today because of the foul whether (that’s a joke, I know how to spell weather, just a cheap jab). Like I was saying, I’m hoping and praying this article is written from a sarcastic standpoint. If not, don’t let the article get you down, keep trucking on your studying for certifications and take as many as you can!

Below are the reasons for those of you that don’t feel like reading the article.

5. Career advancement is for corporate big-shots concerned with success, not for you.

4. You’re idea of personal growth is that stuff growing in your belly button. 

        **As you can see there’s another typo at the beginning of this statement also.**

3. The whole process of figuring out which certification you should get is just too confusing.

2. Who has time to study? Certainly not you.

1. Money can’t buy happiness, so why do you need more?

10/01/2008 - Posted by | certifications

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

