the linux newb

all things tech

Spicebird Beta 0.4 Review

I have been using Spicebird now for a little over a week and this is what I think about it.  I know that Spicebird is still in beta, but here are some things that I noticed did not work well.  The IM client that works along side Googletalk does not show some of my contacts as online, when in fact they are online.  Also, Spicebird does not allow for some add-ons (if not all) to be added.  I use Google Calendar through Mozilla’s Lightning and Google Provider to manage my calendar events in Thunderbird.  If Spicebird will not allow for the add-ons, then I am “up a creek” when trying to use my calendar functions.  Other than these things, I am pleased with the progression of Spicebird, the developers are definitely moving in the right direction.  I hope they continue to better this project because I would love to have something on Linux that works as well as Outlook on Windows.  On the other hand, I have not used Spicebird with my domain (mail server, jabber server, etc.) yet, and this may open up new doors.  If you have used Spicebird, I would love to hear your comments about it.

22/01/2008 - Posted by | open source, Productivity |

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

