the linux newb

all things tech

Kstartupconfig4 could not be found…

I was installing KDE 4 on openSUSE 10.3, and when I tried to log in, I was presented with an error box that read “kstartupconfig4 could not be found, please check your installation.” I searched for a solution, and one was to chmod user:group ~/.kde4, but this did not solve my problem. Since I could not find an answer for this error, I decided to start from a clean slate and re-install 10.3 from scratch. With a base setup, I was able to start KDE 4, until I installed some apps that I use on a day to day basis. I found out that NessusClient-3.0.1-suse10.2.i586.rpm was the problem, not the server application, but the GUI Client.  I installed all of my apps and KDE 4 worked, UNTIL I installed that package and I got the error message.  As soon as I uninstalled the client, KDE 4 was up and running again.  I’m not sure where the problem is in this package, but hopefully it will be solved soon.  As for now, I guess it’s all command line for me and Nessus.

I also noticed that this happened on KDE 4.0 and 4.01.  I do like how I can resize the panel finally in 4.01.

Cheers, and I hope this helps some of you.

05/02/2008 - Posted by | KDE 4, Linux, opensuse | ,

2 Comments »

  1. Thx, this one safed me a lot of time. I’m currently re-building my audit Laptop on OpenSuse11 and had install quite some apps including Nessus which seems to work fine on KDE 4.1 until … suddely the system feezes and after power-cycling I got the mentioned error message.

    And I was about to reverse engineer, which application actually had broken the system as I stumbled about your posting.
    After removing the NessusClient, the error was gone. And as there are some alternatives to the “orig.” Client, I’ll try to use another one.

    So thx a lot again.
    Bernd

    Comment by Bernd | 08/09/2008 | Reply

  2. I didn’t want to believe that really the Nessus Client is the problem until I read this. I’m using openSUSE 11 with KDE 4.0.
    After removing the client, the error was gone. Thanks a lot!
    Now I’m searching for an alternative client…any ideas?

    Comment by Jerome | 27/02/2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

