the linux newb

all things tech

Getting a bluescreen with Truecrypt?

Recently, I was getting a BSOD on Windows when trying to mount a Truecrypt partition.  I had no idea what the heck was going on, until I came across a forum post.  Well, I was using Ext2 Installable File System for Windows to mount my Linux partitions on Windows.  The driver that it uses somehow conflicts with Truecrypt.  I never went into too much depth with this besides uninstalling Ext2 Installable File System for Windows, and BAM, everything worked fine.  Just thought I would pass this along to everyone.

Hope this helps!

03/10/2008 - Posted by | Linux, Random |

7 Comments »

  1. Thanks for this info. I have been having trouble on one of my machines. It is the one I use Ext2 on. Thanks again for sharing.

    Comment by jim | 06/12/2008 | Reply

  2. If you have plenty of hard drive space and another Windows license, install a second copy of Windows under Virtualbox. That copy of Windows will not need to mount ext2 partitions, so you can safely run TrueCrypt under it.

    Comment by Raven | 10/12/2008 | Reply

  3. Thanks, would have had no clue otherwise.

    Comment by canoon | 20/03/2009 | Reply

  4. Very much appreciated! I’ve been tearing my hair out trying to figure out why my home machine was getting BSOD every time I used TrueCrypt, even after reinstalling the OS, while all other machines I use it on are fine. The home machine is the only one I have using ext2 on Windows. Definately something to test when I get home.

    Comment by Me | 03/08/2009 | Reply

  5. Thanks much for that… Windows is definitely allergic to opensource software 😛

    Comment by Sylvain | 17/08/2009 | Reply

  6. I owe you many thanks Matthew, you made the internet better the day you wrote that entry, NOW truecrypt works 🙂

    Comment by Oliver | 29/08/2009 | Reply

  7. Ah, brilliant! THANK YOU! So easy to fix, when you know what to do…!!!

    Comment by Morty | 29/03/2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

