the linux newb

all things tech

OpenSuSE 11.0 Could not start kdeinit4…

I recently installed OpenSuSE 11.0 to see what all the fuss was about.  After completing an update on my machine and rebooting…I tried to login and was greeted with the following message…”Could not start kdeinit4, please check your installation.”

Damn…

Well, I found a way around this.  First, I installed the Nvidia G…(I can’t remember the name because I am typing this up on a different computer) from Yast.  After this, Nvidia tries to install a PAE kernel module, well…I removed the Nvidia PAE module and PAE kernel.  I logged into the failsafe session instead of KDE 4.  Next, I su-ed into root and ran yast2.  I selected Software Management, and searched for KDE4.  I updated all of the packages under KDE4, and then rebooted.

Upon rebooting, everything worked fine.  Cheers, hope this helps.

I am currently running 11.0 on a Dell Latitude D830 with an Nvidia Quadro NVS 140M…for those of you wondering.

22/10/2008 - Posted by | Linux, opensuse, Productivity | , ,

2 Comments »

  1. I logged into the failsafe session instead of KDE 4. Next, I su-ed into root and ran yast2. I selected Software Management, and searched for KDE4. I updated all of the packages under KDE4, and then rebooted.
    Upon rebooting, everything worked fine. Cheers, hope this helps.

    Comment by Torsten Wietstock | 20/12/2008 | Reply

  2. Thanks for posting – if I could clarify for those like me who are barely savvy: when (if) you get to login screen – bottom left of screen select session type as fail safe, then login. in the xterm line window type “yast2” no quotes and choose software management all as stated above – but when you have searched for KDE4 and got a list – goto to the “package” drop down” at the bottom of menu choose “all in this list” and select “update unconditionally” otherwise your duff component may not be replaced –

    Comment by Keith | 02/12/2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

