the linux newb

all things tech

OpenSuSE 11 and a Pinnacle 800i

A while back I bought a Pinnacle PCTV 800i for my box.  Now, mind you, I had Windows XP installed on this box; but I could NEVER get the damned thing to work.  I am not kidding!  The card was designed for Windows XP, but Pinnacle really dropped the ball on this one.

Well, I recently pulled this machine back out and installed OpenSuSE 11 on it.  Everything works like a charm.  I remembered that I still had that card boxed up; so I pulled it out, blew the dust off of it, and put it in the machine.  I have installed some usb tv cards for my laptop, so I decided to do the same steps from before with this card, even though it’s a PCI card (Steps are below).

I could not believe it, but when I fired up TVTime, the damn card worked.  Absolutely unbelieveable!  So finally, if my fiance’ is watching TV in the living room, I can escape to my office and watch football!

To get this working, just visit http://www.linuxtv.org/wiki/index.php/Pinnacle_PCTV_HD_Card_(800i)

Or follow these instructions:

Run lspci -vvnn (to make sure the card is recognized)

You should see some output that looks like:

00:0a.0 Multimedia video controller [0400]: Conexant CX23880/1/2/3 PCI Video and Audio Decoder [14f1:8800] (rev 05)
	Subsystem: Pinnacle Systems Inc. Unknown device [11bd:0051]
	Control: I/O- Mem+ BusMaster+ SpecCycle- MemWINV+ VGASnoop- ParErr- Stepping- SERR- FastB2B-
	Status: Cap+ 66MHz- UDF- FastB2B+ ParErr- DEVSEL=medium >TAbort- <TAbort- <MAbort- >SERR- <PERR-
	Latency: 32 (5000ns min, 13750ns max), Cache Line Size: 32 bytes
	Interrupt: pin A routed to IRQ 19
	Region 0: Memory at dc000000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=16M]
	Capabilities: [44] Vital Product Data
	Capabilities: [4c] Power Management version 2
		Flags: PMEClk- DSI+ D1- D2- AuxCurrent=0mA PME(D0-,D1-,D2-,D3hot-,D3cold-)

		Status: D0 PME-Enable- DSel=0 DScale=0 PME-

Next, go to this website, http://www.steventoth.net/linux/xc5000/ and get the firmware.  There are three seperate files, and I suggest you take a look at the README.

Now, go grab the bzip or gzip from http://linuxtv.org/hg/v4l-dvb

There are instuctions on that site on how to install.  Mainly, copy the tar to /lib/firmware and extract.  Run make and make install.

Now, you should be cooking with gas.  One drawback to using TVTime, is that the sound will not be produced until you install sox from yast and run this command:

sox -c 2 -s -r 32000 -t ossdsp /dev/dsp2 -t ossdsp -r 32000 /dev/dsp

Cheers, and a big screw you to Pinnacle for making me sit on this thing for soooo long.  A huge HELL YEA to SuSE for doing it the right way for soooo long!

07/12/2008 Posted by | how-to, open source, opensuse, videos | 1 Comment