the linux newb

all things tech

USB on VirtualBox 2.4.4 with OpenSuSE 11.1

I was browsing the Internet with a problem that I had with USB on VirtualBox. The USBs were greyed out and I could not select them. I came across two possible solutions. I did both, and it worked. Now, you may just have to do one of them, but I was trying everything that I could to get it to work. Here are the solutions:

Search for rule 50-udev-default.rules
and change the permissions as follows:

# libusb device nodes
#SUBSYSTEM==”usb”, ENV{DEVTYPE}==”usb_device”,
NAME=”bus/usb/$env{BUSNUM}/$env{DEVNUM}”, MODE=”0664″

I did the following also:

Look in the directory /etc/udev/rules.d/ for the file 10-vboxdrv.rules. Create a backup of this file by:
cp 10-vboxdrv.rules 10-vboxdrv.rules.bak
and then do the following:
mv 10-vboxdrv.rules 60-vboxdrv.rules

then reboot, and hopefully everything works. Good luck!

23/06/2009 - Posted by | how-to, Linux, open source, opensuse, Productivity

1 Comment »

  1. Hi Matthew,

    the second tip you gave works for me in so far as I can now access USB-devices from my WindowsXP GuestSystem under VirtualBox. But I still cannot access USB-devices in my OpenSuse 11.1 (devices are identified, but the filesystem eg.from the USB-stick isn’t mounted anywhere)

    Maybe it’s because I have no default rule 50-udev-default.rules unter /etc/udev/rules.d
    But every time I create one (like the one you suggested) my
    graphical system can’t start after reboot.
    I have the the proprietary NVIDIA driver installed, maybe that’s the reason?
    Can you suggest any other default rules?

    Comment by Christiane | 18/09/2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

